2 July 2014

Award for pioneering stem cell research


Each year, the LEO Pharma Research Foundation awards two international research prizes. In 2014, the Gold Award goes to Associate Professor and BRIC Group Leader Kim B. Jensen, for his outstanding research in epidermal stem cells.

Gold Award

Kim Jensen

Kim B. Jensen. Photo: LEO Pharma Research Foundation

With the Gold Award comes a prize of the DKK 1 million for continued research. Dr. Jensen’s research focuses on how the epidermis, the outer layer of the skin, is constantly renewed throughout life in an organised manner by epidermal stem cells. Epidermal stem cells need to be carefully controlled as any imbalance is likely to have devastating consequences. Too little contribution from the stem cells can lead to bleeding ulcers, whereas too much contribution can lead to skin cancer. By examining how stem cells are regulated in the epidermis, Jensen hopes to gain insights into mechanisms responsible for disease development and identify new drugable pathways.

Silver Award

The DKK 500,000 Silver Award goes to Dr. med. Christina Zielinski, research group leader at  Department of Dermatology and Allergology and Berlin-Brandenburg Center for Regenerative Therapies, Charité University Medicine, Berlin.

2014 Ceremony

Each year, the LPRF awards two scientists from the global science community with the aim of supporting significant advances in scientific research. The European Society for Dermatological Research (ESDR) selects candidates while the LPRF selects the award winners. The award ceremony will take place on 11 September, 2014 at the Tivoli Congress Center during the 44th annual ESDR meeting.